A single teardrop…

ctaylor
2 min readJun 7, 2021
Photo by Vitor Pinto on Unsplash

As I peek down the winding stairs I catch a glimpse of you. You are so handsome, standing so tall and proud; patiently waiting for me to join you in Holy Matrimony.

It is our tenth anniversary. Exactly ten years, since the day we met. And, now, it will also be our wedding anniversary.

How is it possible that it could seem like just yesterday that we met … and yet also a lifetime ago … at the very same time?

I remember the first time I saw you as I pulled into an empty parking space across the street. You were standing just as you are now. So handsome. So tall. Patiently waiting for me to get out of my car so we could begin our life together.

And, what a wonderful life we have had. In fact, I would endure another forty years of pain for just ten more with you.

I am overcome with a flood of emotions and I can feel my face wanting to crumble into a sea of tears.

I struggle internally to regain my composure.

My happy tears could wait until later. They could wait for the next song, parade, event, cute puppy, tv show, movie, commercial, or memory of this day.

This day that we had been planning for so many years is finally here. The ceremony that we had so carefully planned is happening right now. I don’t want to miss a single moment of it; so, today, I need to keep my tears inside.

You look up as I slowly walk down the stairs. My heart beats faster, as it always does when you look at me.

As I stand by your side, the ceremony begins.

A single teardrop falls down your face.

And, I love you even more.

--

--